In July of 2013 Illinois passed Public Act 98-63 and became the last state to allow law abiding citizens the option of carrying a concealed handgun for personal protection.  The law, in it's entirety can be viewed here.

Who should take the Illinois Concealed Carry Course?
  • Anyone seriously considering even occasionally carrying a firearm for personal protection outside your home
  • Anyone that wants to seriously improve their skills with a firearm
  • Single parents; special one-on-one time is devoted to addressing safe storage alternatives in homes with children.
  • Individuals that may have received an order of protection against another
  • Business owners and employees that may handle large amounts of cash or be involved in sensitive careers, e.g. locksmith, delivery drivers handling cash
  • Classes can be scheduled for both 8 and 12 hours, for those with some previous training or military experience credit, or a full 16 hour version, for those with no prior training or experience.
The course curriculum we use has been approved by the Illinois State Police for qualifying for a Concealed Carry permit

To qualify for an Illinois Concealed Carry permit you must meet the following criteria
:


1. Be 21 years of age

2. Have a valid Illinois FOID card (Firearm Owners Identification) or have applied for one before the class starts. ($10 for 10 years) If you don't already have one allow approximately 6 weeks or more for Illinois State Police processing.  Forms are available online from the Illinois State Police   https://www.ispfsb.com/Public/FOID.aspx  (Note: If you do not have your FOID Card yet but have applied for it, you can take the course and qualify after you receive your FOID)

3. Have no felony convictions and no existing restraining order or orders of protection and be able to pass a background check by the Illinois State Police.

4. Complete 16 total hours of training* Typically 15 hours of classroom and homework plus 1 hour at the range.
   (*Prior relevant training and military service may count for a total of 4 to 8 hours of the required training,
    see the complete list of accepted training below.)

5. Satisfactorily complete a course of "Live Fire" with a minimum of 30 rounds at a B-27 Silhouette Target with a 70% hit rate   
             - 10 rounds at 5 yards  
             - 10 rounds at 7 yards
             - 10 rounds at 10 yards


6. Pay a fee to the state of $150 for Illinois residents (CCW Permit is good for 5 years, renewal is $75 with an additional 3 hours of training)


The Illinois State Police will also require a recent color head and shoulders picture with the online application.  Digital fingerprints are optional, but may speed up the approval process. The actual application details for the photo size are available now on the Illinois State Police website.
 

Questions?
E-mail me at dpeter1946@aol.com

Our Concealed Carry Course will include the following subjects:
  1. Firearm safety; storage, handling, 4 safety rules
  2. The myths and reality of Illinois Gun Laws
  3. Principles of marksmanship; stance, grip, sight alignment, sight picture, trigger discipline
  4. Care, cleaning, safe loading and unloading of a firearm, revolver and pistol
  5. Choosing the right ammunition for the application; target, personal defense, hunting, plinking
  6. Choosing the right holster or other concealment option
  7. Situational awareness - staying out of trouble in the first place
  8. The adrenalin factor
  9. Threat evaluation; intent, proximity and ability factors
  10. A guide for Interaction with law enforcement when carrying
  11. Out of state travel when carrying
  12. Review of state and federal laws and responsibilities relating to ownership, storage, carry laws and transportation of a concealed firearm including currently prohibited areas and signage standards for business owners.
  13. General review of laws on the use of lethal force in defense of persons, property, dwelling and the consequences legally, morally and psychologically
  14. A review of the Illinois Unlawful Use of Weapons statutes
  15. Firearm handling, the draw from concealment with dry fire practice (no live ammunition)
  16. Live fire practice drills and qualification on a B-27 silhouette target, 30 rounds minimum with a 70% hit rate:                                                           10 rounds from 5 yards                                                                                                                                                         10 rounds from 7 yards                                                                                                                                                         10 rounds from 10 yards
  17. Course Completion: Students will receive feedback on the live-fire exercise and a signed official "Illinois State Police Training Certificate" to submit with their application for concealed carry upon successful demonstration of firing a qualifying "group"                                                                                                                            

Note:

Credit for previous training is allowed for up to a total of 8 hours of the required 16 hours. You must show proof of the previous training to be allowed credit for it.  Completion certificates, dated and signed by your instructors are acceptable and a copy of your DD214 for veterans is approved for 8 hours credit..

Acceptable training for credit towards you required 16 hours, which you must show proof of, includes:


Illinois Hunter Safety Course ........................................................................4 hours
Utah Concealed Carry....................................................................................4 hours
Florida Concealed Carry ...............................................................................4 hours
Nevada Concealed Carry ..............................................................................4 hours
Missouri Concealed Carry ................................................................. ...........4 hours
Kentucky Concealed Carry ...........................................................................4 hours
Michigan Concealed Carry ...........................................................................4 hours
NRA First Steps ............................................................................................4 hours                                  Chicago Firearms Safety Course ..................................................................4 hours                                        NRA Basic Pistol ...........................................................................................8 hours
NRA Personal Protection in the Home ..........................................................8 hours
NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home ................................................8 hours

Military service ............................................................................................. 8 hours

Fees:

Shooting Safe LLC Fees for the Illinois Concealed Carry Instruction Course

Full 16 hours - $125*

8 - 12 Hour Course - $100*

3 Hour renewal Course - $50

* Fees may be reduced for large classes or use of available training space for the classroom portion.